YPW announces 2017 Leadership Academy class

Dec 09, 2016 · Suzy Finn - YPW Executive Director

Twenty-five area young professionals have been selected to participate in the 2017 Young Professionals of Wichita (YPW) Leadership Academy, a leadership development program for young professionals who are interested in growing their leadership capabilities. Leadership Academy participants were nominated for the class by members of the community and then completed an application, which was reviewed by a selection committee.

The program educates YPs on their personal styles, values and strengths so they can grow as leaders, motivate others and impact change in their organizations and communities. The program, which will begin in January, includes six weekly sessions that feature interactive exercises, issue exploration, self-assessments, and in-depth conversations with Wichita’s top community and business leaders.

“YPW’s unique leadership program is designed by YPs for YPs,” said YPW Executive Director Suzy Finn. “Our hope is that this class will learn as much from each other as they will from the experts they’ll hear from. We believe the broad range of industries, sectors, years of experience, roles, and backgrounds represented will be key to making that possible. Wichita’s future is bright with individuals like these excited to learn more about their role in leadership.”

2017 Leadership Academy Participants:

Alyssa Peppiatt, BKD, LLP

Ann Marie Siegwarth, Envision, Inc.

Ashley Lunkenheimer, Wesley Medical Center

Branden McLaughlin, CrossFirst Bank

Chloe Stevenson, Apples & Arrows

Cyle Barnwell, BELT Leasing

Destiny Pello, Emprise Bank

James Holland, Westar Energy

James Nixon, Airbus Americas Engineering, Inc.

Jenna Reid (Kramer), Sullivan Higdon & Sink

Jennifer McDonald, CCH, A Wolters Kluwer Business

Jessica Long, Delta Dental of Kansas, Inc.

Jessie Rainey, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

Kristen Zemanick, Koch Industries, Inc.

Kyle Womacks, Emprise Bank

Lauren Clary, Professional Engineering Consultants, P.A.

Mary Hetherington, Wichita Community Foundation

Matt Spahn, Martin Pringle Oliver Wallace & Bauer, L.L.P.

Megan Lovely, City of Wichita

Mike Heldstab, U.S. Senator Jerry Moran

Rachel Sweet, Via Christi Health

Ravon Kirkendoll, BG Products, Inc.

Shannon Vande Brake, Textron Aviation Inc.

Steven Suellentrop, Legacy Bank

Teddy Farias, Wichita Area Technical College


About YPW:

Housed and staffed by the Wichita Regional Chamber of Commerce, YPW’s mission is to attract, engage and retain diverse young talent to effect positive change for a brighter future. With a membership of more than 3,000, YPW’s number one aspiration is brain gain for Wichita by facilitating professional and social connections, encouraging leadership development and building community pride.

Leadership Academy